2022 Award Winners

Brabazon Cup – for outstanding performance

Awarded to a female pilot for one particularly outstanding or noteworthy performance in aviation. This cup was presented to the BWPA by Lord Brabazon of Tara in 1959.

Recipient: Zara Rutherford

In August 2021, aged 19, Zara launched herself on an inspirational journey to fly solo around the world in a Shark.Aero Shark ultralight aircraft. She landed back in Wevelgem, Belgium, 155 days later on 20 January 2022, breaking the Guinness World Record for the youngest woman to fly solo around the world.

The Chairwoman’s Challenge Trophy – for the annual competition flight

Awarded to a member for the entry judged to be the most interesting or unusual flight within a theme. The 2022 Challenge was on theme of ‘Noughts and Crosses’.

Recipient: Amal Lahrlid

Amal focused on accurately flying a ‘sky art’ portrait of Queen Elizabeth II, imaginatively incorporating a nought and cross as the jewels in the crown. The route and artwork were published and the flight was also to raise money for a charity close to Amal’s heart.

Naomi Christy Cup – for personal achievement

This trophy is awarded to a female British pilot for a flying or flying-related personal achievement, beyond the recipient’s wildest dreams. This award is not aimed at the record breaker or high achiever, but is awarded for an achievement special to the recipient.

Recipient: Annabel Cook

After renewing her Class 2 medical certificate after a horse-riding accident, Annabel achieved her first foreign flight as pilot in command in 2022 . Her trip took in France, Germany, Switzerland, Belgium and the Netherlands. After a two-year break from flying, this represented a special achievement for Annabel, and showed what may be achieved with a VFR-only PPL and a significant amount of conscientious flight planning.

OP Jones Cup – for achievement in gliding/hang gliding/paragliding

Awarded to a female pilot for an achievement or special contribution to gliding, hang gliding or paragliding.

Recipient: Claudia Hill

Claudia won the Silver Medal in the Club Class at the 2022 Women’s World Gliding Championship. She showed determination and stamina as she faced challenges of variable weather and tough competition against the world’s finest woman pilots. She finished in the highest position of Team GB by a considerable margin and also beat her best result from previous international championships.

Muriel Sells Trophy

This award is made to a BWPA member who has supported the Association either by regularly attending events or by working in the background to further the Association’s aims.

Recipient: Steph Smith

Steph has proved to be a notable BWPA team player. She received several nominations for the Muriel Sells Trophy from the Midlands Regional Group, of which she is regional representative, and other members for her work for the BWPA, including successfully running the BWPA social media channels, organising and attending events, and providing careers advice.

BWPA Special Recognition Award

Awarded in recognition of active support of women in aviation.

Recipient: Liz Sparrow

Liz worked tirelessly to ensure the success of the 2022 Women’s World Gliding Championship, giving up her chance to compete for Team GB in order to take on the role of Competition Director. Her passion for encouraging women to venture into aviation was reflected by the positive feedback surrounding the competition.

BWPA Special Recognition Award

Awarded in recognition of active support of women in aviation.

Recipient: Annabel Cook

Annabel spent nine years developing and supporting BWPA communications, including establishing Facebook and Twitter feeds, creating a recognisable brand, and leading on redeveloping the website into a professional and polished resource. This work has contributed significantly to the BWPA, not least to the substantial increase in membership, and  in scholarship opportunities and applications.


The following trophies were not awarded in 2022:

Jackie Moggridge Cup – for career achievement

Awarded to a female pilot for achieving excellent qualifications in her chosen career.

Hilda Hewlett Trophy – for initiative and commitment in a young pilot

Presented to a female British pilot between the ages of 16 and 25, who has shown initiative and commitment in gaining her PPL (with a view to following a career in aviation) and who, through her actions and her example, is an inspiration to her peer group.

Jean Lennox Bird Pendant – for long service to aviation

Awarded to a female pilot who has served aviation over a period of time in any aspect, consistently achieving goals, showing diligence to duties and encouragement to others.

Faith Bennett Navigation Cup – for special merit in navigation

This trophy is awarded to a female British pilot for a navigation exercise undertaken during the current year. It must be an exercise of special merit or one that stretches the experience of the pilot to the limits, reaching goals beyond the pilot’s expectations. Can be given to regions for group flights/achievements.

Jack Brackenbury Photographic Trophy – for noteworthy photography

Awarded to a BWPA member for recognition of a particularly notable photograph. Entries may include photos sent in for the newsletter and website. This trophy was first awarded in 2004 in memory of Jack Brackenbury and to encourage members to record our events as he used to.

Start typing and press Enter to search