Every year the BWPA makes a number of awards to recognise special achievement and commitment to aviation. Awards are usually presented at our annual Christmas event.

The 2022 awards nominations are now CLOSED. Thank you to everyone who sent in a nomination!

Read about the 2022 winners and start thinking about who you might nominate next year!

Muriel Sells Trophy – for supporting the BWPA

This award is made to a BWPA member who has supported the Association either by regularly attending events or by working in the background to further the Association’s aims.

BWPA Special Recognition Award

Awarded in recognition of active support of women in aviation.

The Chairwoman’s Challenge Trophy – for the annual competition flight

Awarded to a member for the entry judged to be the most interesting or unusual flight within a theme. Our 2023 Challenge is ‘Crowning Glory’.

Brabazon Cup – for outstanding performance

Awarded to a female pilot for one particularly outstanding or noteworthy performance in aviation. This cup was presented to the BWPA by Lord Brabazon of Tara in 1959.

Naomi Christy Cup – for personal achievement

This trophy is awarded to a female British pilot for a flying or flying-related personal achievement, beyond the recipient’s widest dreams. This award is not aimed at the record breaker or high achiever, but is awarded for an achievement special to the recipient.

Jackie Moggridge Cup – for career achievement

Awarded to a female pilot for achieving excellent qualifications in her chosen career.

Hilda Hewlett Trophy – for initiative and commitment in a young pilot

Presented to a female British pilot between the ages of 16 and 25, who has shown initiative and commitment in gaining her PPL (with a view to following a career in aviation) and who, through her actions and her example, is an inspiration to her peer group.

Jean Lennox Bird Pendant – for long service to aviation

Awarded to a female pilot who has served aviation over a period of time in any aspect, consistently achieving goals, showing diligence to duties and encouragement to others.

Faith Bennett Navigation Cup – for special merit in navigation

This trophy is awarded to a female British pilot for a navigation exercise undertaken during the current year. It must be an exercise of special merit or one that stretches the experience of the pilot to the limits, reaching goals beyond the pilot’s expectations. Can be given to regions for group flights/achievements.

OP Jones Cup – for achievement in gliding/hang gliding/paragliding

Awarded to a female pilot for an achievement or special contribution to gliding, hang gliding or paragliding.

Jack Brackenbury Photographic Trophy – for noteworthy photography

Awarded to a BWPA member for recognition of a particularly notable photograph. Entries may include photos sent in for the newsletter and website. This trophy was first awarded in 2004 in memory of Jack Brackenbury and to encourage members to record our events as he used to.

Start typing and press Enter to search