Dawn To Dusk Awards – BWPA award winners!

 In Events, News

Dawn to Dusk Award Presentation, London – January 2014

Women pilots, several of whom belong to BWPA, were well represented among the trophy winners at the Pooleys “Dawn to Dusk” flying competition award dinner held at the RAF Club, Piccadilly, on Friday January 31st 2014. Prizes were presented by Judge Tudor Owen, Master of GAPAN.

First prize of the Duke of Edinburgh Cup went to Marion McCall from Australia, who used her Tiger Cub to follow the journeys of South Australian explorer, Edward Eyre. New BWPA member Amanda Jenkins, from Take Flight, Wellesbourne, with female co-pilot, Judith Harrison,  won the Bonney trophy for the best all-women team, for their flight around Britain looking at iconic bridges.  Mike Roberts, managing director of Take Flight, won third and fourth places for two entries. Mike flew around England, his co-pilot being one of Take Flight’s female students. He won his second trophy for taking golfers from Stratford-on-Avon to play rounds at courses in England, Scotland, Northern Ireland and Wales, all within the strict time limit specified by the competition. Second place winner of the Coventry Cup was coached by BWPA member, Amanda Harrison, whilst Rosemary and Keith Clemo won the Hamilton Half Trophy for their journey looking at castles on the English / Welsh border.

2014 marks the 50th year of this event. Pooleys are very keen to encourage as many pilots as possible to take part. Details of “Dawn to Dusk” are posted at www.automatic-button.com/d2d/awards.htm.  Perhaps a BWPA team could fly a route based on our coming 2015 60th anniversary?

Rosemary Clemo 20.02.2014.


 Amanda Jenkins and Ruth Bridges receiving their “Dawn to Dusk” certificates and award from Tudor Owen, Master of GAPAN.


 An all-female team supported the winner of the Coventry Cup.


     Rosemary and Keith Clemo were awarded the Hamilton Trophy as winners of the half day competition.


Recent Posts

Start typing and press Enter to search