Meet the team

The BWPA is run by a committee of elected members each with individual responsibilities. Off the committee much work is done liaising with other aviation organisations, both in the UK and overseas. Fundraising through raffles, events etc supplement the membership fees and provide the money to support the Scholarship and Bursary and to promote flying. Regional Groups are run throughout the country. Typically they meet once a month for social and/or flying events. Regional co-ordinators meet to exchange ideas and plan joint and national events.

Committee Members:

  • Julie Westhorp – Chairwoman
    Julie discovered flying in her 40s and it rapidly became a big passion. She became a full-time instructor in 2002, with a frozen ATPL, teaching PPL, CPL, IMC and multi-engine. She has also gained her PPL examiner rating. In 2006 she started flying commercially, but has now retired. She continues to instruct at Andrewsfield Aviation.
  • Marion WooldridgeVice Chair
    Marion originally learned to fly at White Waltham. She has owned a share in a Piper Cherokee for over 20 years. She has also flown many other types of aircraft in many countries and continents. In her ‘spare’ time, Marion is a Civilian Instructor with the Air Cadets and an elected Assistant on the Court of the Honourable Company of Air Pilots.
  • Beverley HarrisonHon. Secretary and Archivist
    Beverley got her PPL in 1996 and has flown single engine aircraft, microlights and gliders. She served as an RAF Officer for over 20 years. She is currently heavily involved with the Brooklands Museum and volunteers as a STEM Ambassador in the South West.
  • Nicky RowanHon. Treasurer
    Nicky got her PPL in 1982 and has worked in aviation for over 30 years, mostly in the field of flight operations and compliance monitoring. She learned to fly on a Piper Cherokee but her favourite aircraft to fly is the Piper Cub.
  • Annabel CookCommunications and Marketing
    Annabel gained her PPL in 2001 at Coventry Airport on C152s and PA28s, then did her tailwheel differences training in a Chipmunk. She has flown many different types of aircraft, including a Cub Floatplane and a Thruster TST MkI. She now flies from Farnborough, and the Chipmunk is still her favourite.
  • Rosemary ClemoNewsletter Editor 
    Rosemary gained her PPL in 2000 at Coventry Airport on C152s and PA28s. Since then she has added tailwheel differences, night and IR(R) ratings. She is a retired Science teacher and now enjoys flying her C152 from Derby Airfield.
  • Sharon NicholsonCareers and FEWP Representative
    Sharon is an aviation professional involved in the industry since 1976. She started her career as a flight school administrator and an AFISO (NATS), becoming a flight instructor and examiner. As an ATPL and former line training captain, she now provides regulatory oversight for the UK CAA. Sharon is one of our STEM Ambassadors.
  • Cheryl SullivanScholarships and Events Co-ordinator
    Cheryl learned to fly at Stapleford Airfield and qualified in 1984, flying the C152 and C172. She also held a twin rating on the PA34. She is the proud owner of a C172 which has taken her all around Europe.
  • Kanchana Gamage  – Outreach and STEM; Scholarships Team
  • Bronwyn Fraser  – Communications Team
  • Helen Hennessy Communications Team
  • Sue Tuddenham Scholarships
  • Tara Cawdell Sales

Working Off-Committee:

  • Amy Chau – Website and Communications Team
  • Lesley Runnalls  – RIN & GASCo Representative