Awards 2015

Our annual awards for 2015 were presented at the Christmas Lunch at The Manor Country House Hotel, Weston on the Green, on 6 December 2015.

Chairwoman’s Challenge Trophy
A new Challenge is set each year and the award is given to the entry judged to be the most interesting or unusual navigation flight within the theme.
The challenge for 2015 was to take part in a precision flying event.
The competition is judged on the basis of flight logs, photographs, accuracy of times and other supporting material submitted by entrants. The judges also take into account the experience of the pilots.

Awarded to Rosemary Clemo.

For her Diamond themed flight on 3 July 2015. Rosemary’s plan was to fly from her home airfield to as many places as possible with references to diamonds, of which she found 30.
This entry was chosen for three reasons; the creativity shown by the original idea, the detailed and very obvious competence that went into the planning for the flight and finally the quality of the submission.

 2015 award winners – overview:

Winner Award
 Bridget Donaldson Hilda Hewlett Trophy:
For a younger member who has shown initiative and committment in gaining their Pilots Licence.
Paula Carter Faith Bennett Navigation Trophy:
For a navigation excercise of special interest or one that stretches the experience of the pilot to their limit.
Kanchana Gamage Naomi Christy Award:
For personal achievement.
Rachel Ellis Muriel Sells Trophy:
For supporting the BWPA by attending events and/or working to further the aims of the Association.
Morag Leslie-Smith Jackie Moggridge Trophy: 
Awarded for achieving excellent qualifications in their chosen career.
Dorothy Saul-Pooley Brabazon Cup:
For a particularly outstanding performance.
Diamond Jubilee Working Group BWPA Special Recognition Award:
This new award is in recognition of an individual’s active support of women in aviation.
Not awarded Jean Lennox Bird Pendant:
 For service to aviation over a period of time.
Ayala Truelove O.P. Jones Cup:
For a noteworthy performance in gliding or hang-gliding.
Lucy Irwin Jack Brackenbury Photography Trophy:
Best BWPA related photograph submitted for the archives, website or newsletter during the year.
 Rosemary Clemo Chairwoman’s Challenge Trophy:
The Challenge to take part in a precision flying event.